Tags

, , , , , ,

 

I saw this recipe on Pinterest and I thought… hmmm.  I have never tried to make soup before so why not start with this one.  I bought all the ingredients and then I came up with a lot of excuses to why I should not embark on first attempt at making soup.

Finally, my husband was away on a business trip for 3 days (when he is gone for one or two nights I usually just make kid food like nuggets or Spaghetti-o’s), and since he was gone for a longer period of time I kind of got sick of the kid food and so I just bit the bullet and made the soup.

To my surprise it was a lot easier than I thought it would be.  I have to admit the first step was the hardest for me… I hate handling meat (a side effect of being a vegetarian for a while) and breaking up the sausage was enough to do me in.  Once the it started cooking, I felt a lot better.  I browned the sausage and added the onions.  When it came to the garlic… I opted to take the easy route and just do minced garlic, honestly I just did not feel like dealing with cutting garlic.

This is where it got tricky.  After adding the tomato paste I realized that I needed to move the mixture to a pot since the frying pan was getting a bit full.  I pulled out a pot and poured the mixture in.  I added the diced tomatoes and realized that the pot was going to be too small to add the 6 cups of chicken stock to (of course I realized later that I only had 4 cups of chicken stock on hand but who is counting cups anyway).  So I got bigger pot out and transferred the mixture to the bigger pot and then added the chicken stock.

The best part about the recipe was that the soup took about an hour to make.  I always thought soup was something that required hours of simmering.  This soup only requires 1/2 an hour.  The other part of this recipe I liked was the cheesy yum.  At first, the idea scared me a bit, but the cheesy yum makes the soup special and extra tasty too.

The cheesy yum was also easy to make… just mix ricotta cheese and parmesan cheese with some salt and pepper.  I put the dollop on the bottom so the kids could not see it.  I knew I could not convince them that it was “Pizza Soup” if they saw the cheesy yum.  In the end, it was calling it “Pizza Soup” that sold it to my son.  I made the mistake of telling him that I was going to make “Lasagna Soup” earlier in the day and he has never been a fan of Lasagna.

When we sat down to dinner, he saw the soup and instantly started whining and pushing the bowl away.  Once I told him I decided to make “Pizza Soup” instead he tried and amazingly enough… he liked it.  Shocking!

I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to try something a little different for dinner.