Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last night I had the strangest dream… and I usually don’t remember my dreams so this dream must be worth a blog post, right?.   I have not studied dream symbols or dream interpretation, but a quick internet search helped me find the website Dream Moods and their Dream Dictionary and I thought it would help me see if there was something to be learned through this rather disturbing dream.

The Rat and Mongoose in The Camping trip from Hell

My dream began in a campground and I am guessing we were camping (although it is a bit unclear what we were doing there).

My whole family was in our car (and it looked like we were sleeping in the car too) watching a movie. We really love to rough it and get away from technology, as you can plainly see.  I happened to look out the window and a giant (like size of a small cat) rat was climbing up the side mirror.  I screamed and then realized that our dog was sleeping outside of the car in a dog bed.  I worried about him, but got even more worried when I saw there was a mongoose licking his ear.  I thought about getting out of the car to get my dog, but the rat was still sitting on my side mirror.  Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a mother unloading her car and she had a toddler with her.  Her child began to toddle towards my dog and the mongoose.  Unfortunately, the mongoose saw the child before the mother noticed the mongoose.  As the child neared the Mongoose bit the boy on the arm.  The child screamed and the mother ran over to rescue her child and as she tried to fight the mongoose away… it bit her on the arm.  My dog had woken up and we were out of the car by then.  The rat was heading over in that direction and my dog’s ratter instinct (rat terrier) took over and he began to fight with the rat.  They fought and the rat bit his ear.  My son tried to break up the fight and before I could get to him my dog had bitten him on the arm.  Finally, the mongoose and the rat were scared away (not sure really by what) and I was crying.

Of course, I woke up slightly at that point and stared at the ceiling and thought about it.   Shouldn’t the Mongoose have gone after the Rat and not my dog?  Really, the mongoose wanted to lick the ear of my dog and not go after the rather tasty and fat rat that was close by.  It did not make any sense**.  Was this dream telling me something I should listen to?

Dream Interpreation via Dream Moods

The Car: “To dream that no one is driving a moving car suggests that you need to reassess your level of control over your life. You are unwilling to take responsibilities for your actions. To see a parked car in your dream suggests that you need to turn your efforts and energies elsewhere. You may be needlessly spending your energy in a fruitless endeavor. Alternatively, a parked car may symbolize your need to stop and enjoy life.”  Hmm, I do feel somewhat out of control when it comes to getting stuff done around the house.  Sometimes, I feel that cleaning and organizing is a fruitless effort, because the pride I feel when it is cleaned and organized fades in the hour or two it takes the kids to undo the order or when I get up and realize that the floor needs to be swept again and the laundry is out of control again.

Camping: “To dream that you are camping indicates a need for relaxation and a long-deserved break.  You need to be more in touch with nature and go back to a more basic and simpler life. Alternatively, it refers to your social circle and support group. You are looking for a sense of belonging, but at the same time be self-sufficient and independent.”  Hmm. I have been feeling a need to get out and connect with friends more.  I might just need a mom’s night out.

The Rat: “To see a rat in your dream signifies feelings of doubts, greed, guilt, unworthiness and envy. You are keeping something to yourself that is eating you up inside. Or you have done something that you are not proud of. Alternatively, a rat denotes repulsion, decay, dirtiness, and even death. The dream may also be a pun on someone who is a rat. Are you feeling betrayed? I had a pet rat when I was in elementary school.  I loved my rat!  I really did not understand my repulsion towards the big rat sitting outside my window.  It is funny that it signifies respulsion, but what a am I repulsed by?  I have not done anything that I am not proud of lately, except for announcing on facebook that I was going to work on the attic and then failing to do so… but is there a bigger reason why I have been putting off organizing the attic.  Is there something dead waiting for me up there?

The Mongoose:  “To see a mongoose in your dream  suggests that you putting up a defensive wall in an effort to hide your anxieties or shortcomings.”  I see a theme and it looks like I am feeling guilty for my shortcomings.  I am really beating myself up over not cleaning the attic and keeping a clean house.

The Bites: “To see a bite in your dream forewarns of danger from someone who wish you harm, either physical or financial. Be careful of people who surround you.”  If the where they were bit had significance then it would “mean that the arm as the emphasis in your dream indicates your nurturance side and your ability to reach out and care for people. Alternatively, it may represent the struggles and challenges in your life. The ear you need to be more responsive or receptive to guidance and assistance from others. You may be relying too much on your own judgment and intuition. You need to listen more closely to what you are being told.  Alternatively, it signifies your immaturity and lack of experience.” So I need to seek guidance from others to help me with challenges in my life, but I need to be careful of who I choose to seek guidance from.  I should also be better at listening and being responsive to their guidance.  Got it.

Cry: “To dream that you are crying signifies a release of negative emotions that is more likely caused by some waking situation rather than the events of the dream itself. Your dream is a way to regain some emotional balance and to safely let out your fears and frustrations. In your daily lives, you tend to ignore, deny, or repress your feelings. But in your dream state, your defense mechanisms are no longer on guard and thus allow for the release of those feelings that you have repressed during the day”.  I guess I am repressing some of my feelings and because I am not seeking out people to assist me (but I have to choose these people wisely).  I need to relax more and I need to clean the attic or at least not give myself a hard time about it.  I think I got it.

Personal interpretation (because as the ear in the dream suggested I tend to relay on my own intuitions and judgements too much):  Don’t go camping, especially if it means that we would end up sleeping in a car watching movies on a portable DVD player.  Seriously, a cheap hotel has to be more comfortable than that, right?  I also need to let my dog sleep in the car with us… seriously, I am not sure why he was outside sleeping in the first place.  Finally, why did I not just blast the horn when I saw the rat and the mongoose to scare them off.  Hindsight is 20/20, I guess.  The next time I see a mongoose and a rat and I happen to be watching movies in the car, I am going to honk the bejesus out of my horn.  Problem solved.

Have you had any dreams lately?  Have they been as strange or stranger than mine? 

*By the way, I had to look up the plural form of Mongoose.

** Just because I was curious I had to look up the relationship between the rat and the mongoose and I happened to find this article “The Mongoose: The Maui Menace“,  which I found really interesting and thought I would share.  Who knew one dream could lead to an hour of procrastination (seriously, I really should conquer the attic).

