Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So on Friday, I took my kids and my after-schooler bowling.  I should have known better, but I am too optimistic for my own good sometimes.

On the way there, I played the radio and the Nine Inch Nails song “Head Like a Hole”came on. I think the song foreshadowed the fun I was about to have bowling.  I might have been getting what I deserved… so to speak.

Anyway,  I got some looks from the peanut gallery in the back of the car, and then we had a conversation that follows…

Me:  This was one of my favorite songs in high school.

The Girl:  Really, you must not have been very happy.

Me.  No, I think I was pretty happy.

The Girl:  Well, it is not a very happy song.

Me: [sighs] Well, it helped that I wanted to marry Trent Reznor.

The Girl:  Who?

Me. The Singer.

The Girl:  Well, he doesn’t sound like he was too happy.  You are lucky you did not marry him.

Yeah, I guess I am pretty lucky.

If I married him, I probably would not have spent the next hour bowling through the crying of my son (because he was not winning).  Anyone have Trent’s number?

I know he is not Ryan Gosling, but I could not resist.*

I also would not have had the belly laugh I had when my son put on the prizes he got from the arcade.  A good belly laugh almost erases the hour of crying and tantrumming… almost.

How could you not love a face like that!

I also would not have a sticky red wrestler guy on my ceiling…  Seriously, it has been up there since Friday.  I think it adds an air of drama to my foyer.  I also am taking bets on how long it will be before it falls.

3 days and still hanging. Strong little guy, isn't he?

Yes, I am glad that back in 1991, Trent Reznor did not see the 15 year old me out there in the lawn during Lollapalooza and declare his undying love for me (because you know he wanted to) .  I don’t think I would want a different life than what I have.

* Original photo found here.

