Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Summer has not been good for blogging for me.  I really have no excuse except that with my new puppy, a sick older dog, and two kids that only know how to make a mess… I just have not had any time to sit down and write a post.  Well, school has started again for the kids and so it is time for me to start up again.

So here is what has been going on since I last checked in…

Olive, the Rambunctious Puggle

We picked up our puppy in July and honestly I have spent all of August adjusting to our new arrival.  We have been potty training… and well it seems we do a lot of potty training.  I have found that after 13 years without a puppy… you forget how much work potty training really is.  It is a lot like having a baby.  You seem to forget those late nights and tired days and romanticize the whole baby years.

With that said, Olive is such a wonderful little puppy. She is full of energy and mischief!  She has become a favorite playmate for the kids and has learned to make a mess with her toys… just like her siblings.  Just like the kids she also finds her toys soothing to sleep with…

Taken by my husband

Vacation!

Our family at the Lumberjack Feud

We went on one big trip this summer.  We went to Tennessee and we drove.  It was not supposed to be a long drive, but any drive feels longer when you do not have air conditioning.  By the time we hit the Tennessee line, most of us had striped off some of our clothes and had sweat out a pound or two.

We had a blast once we got there.  We did the lumberjack feud and the Dixie Stampede.   Both kids said they loved the Lumberjack Feud and I would totally recommend going if you are in the Pigeon Forge area.  We also spent a day at Dollywood and a day at Splash Country.  I really loved both of these parks and we had a blast, even though there were some pretty bad thunderstorms that ended up closing some of the roller coasters (lightning hit one of them).

Hanging with the penguins

We also made some time to buy some moonshine and stop by Ripley’s Aquarium of the Rockies.  The penguins were a family favorite!

A Very Sick Puppy


This summer was full of ups and downs.  My older dog, Fincher, gave us a lot to worry about!  He has been quite irritable for a year of so now, but with the new puppy he was even more like a bitter old man.  Then about a month ago, he stopped eating.  His fasts would last for a few days and then he seemed to work whatever it was out, but I still decided to bring him in for a geriatric work up.  He was healthy!  So when he went on a big fast (no water or food for almost a week), I got nervous.  He stopped attacking my husband for coming home or coming to bed (which is a nightly occurrence and I suspect a lot of fun for him).  He also stopped walking and just laid there with no spirit at all.  After a tearful day, we brought him in to find out if there was something we could do or if they needed to put him down.  Miracle boy came home with my husband and he was on anti-biotics for a week.  Unfortunately, this did not help him all that much.  He continued to decline and my husband and I decided that our only option was to put him down.  When I posted the bad news, a friend posted that I should try worming him.  I figured that I had nothing to lose and used some of the wormer I had left over from the puppy.  The next morning he was back to himself.  He ate a full breakfast and was begging at the dinner table by 7 pm.  A very close call, but we have enjoyed our extra time with him since.  He is still a grumpy old man, but he is ours.

Just a Little Bragging!

My kids participated in our neighborhood swim team again.  Both of the kids improved a lot from last year.  My daughter surprised us all though, but posting times that entered her in our leagues championship.  In the end, she brought home a medal from Champs for being 9th in JV 50 meter freestyle in her age group!  She was very proud of herself and we were very proud of her!

My son had some good success too.  He ended the season with a “most improved” metal from the team!   I usually hate to brag about my kids, but I thought I could just brag a little.  🙂

 

So there you have it… I realized as I wrote this post that I not only slacked on writing blog posts, but I also did not take a lot of pictures this summer!  I really have to get on the ball!

 

Hope you all had a wonderful summer!

