Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, this is a very exciting week… My daughter turns 8 on Wednesday!  I still am having a hard time believing that she is that old.  Of course, when she is awake and she throws a little attitude my way, I have a hard time believing she is not a teenager.  My daughter can be quite sassy… I have a feeling the teenage years are going to be very rough.

Not only do we get to celebrate my daughter’s birthday this week, but we are also taking the kids to Vegas.  My kids love Vegas and they are so excited.  Not only will we be celebrating my daughter’s birthday, but we will be celebrating my brother’s birthday, my uncle’s birthday and her godfather’s birthday.  It will be one giant birthday party.  I am so excited…I am sure you guys will hear more about it in the weeks to come, so let me get to some of the great pins.

My Cooking Has a Cheering Section

 

My cooking has received some loud cheering from our fire alarm in the past.  I actually worried about setting the alarm off tonight.  I made chicken and after baking it for 1/2 an hour, it never browned but it was cooked all the way through.  I thought I could just brown it on the stove.  As I cooked it, I noticed it was getting a bit smoky and so I quickly turned the stovetop fan on high.   I love that our fire alarm is connected to our alarm system for many reasons, but it does add a bit anxiety for me when I set the fire alarm off while cooking.  I can’t imagine anything more embarrassing than having firefighter show up because I burned our dinner.

Dr. Pepper + Slow Cooker = Happiness

Source: addapinch.com via Tara on Pinterest

 

I love Dr. Pepper!  So when I came across this recipe for Dr. Pepper Pot Roast I had to repin it.  I cannot wait to try this one out.  I bought some roast today at the grocery store so this baby is on the menu this week.

CCOKC

Source: funnyordie.com via Tara on Pinterest

 

I have to thank Amy for sharing this video on her blog.  I used to be a big fan of Kirk Cameron back in the day, but recently he is not making headlines for the great roles he plays or the awesome movies that he is in.  No, he is making headlines  for spreading his thoughts on gay rights.   I am all about being free to believe what you want as long as it doesn’t hurt others and/or you don’t hold it against me that I may not agree with you.  Seriously, it is a free country so believe what you want even if I think you are crazy. Yet, I have to wonder… How can loving someone be “destructive to so many of the foundations of civilization”?  I can’t help but think of the movie Idiocracy when I think of his statement… Kirk should seriously check out that movie.   Honestly, that is the future I am afraid of.

I have so much more that I could say, but this is the reason why I tend to try to stay away from politics or religion on my blog.  As much as I believe I am right, I don’t want to tell you what you should believe (because I hate it when others try to convince me to believe what they believe*).  In the end , I just thought the video was awesome and hopefully you will too.

*By the way, you can try to convince me otherwise, but I am pretty stubborn. So if you are looking to troll… I am ready for you.

