Tags

, , , , , , ,

So last night, I sat down and enjoyed the latest Portlandia episode on on IFC.  Little did I know that within 24 hours my life would imitate one of the sketches I was about to enjoy.

The episode started off with a sketch where Carrie drops her iPhone and as it drops she has flashbacks remembering how awesome her life has been with the iPhone in it.  It is funny because it is true… if you have an iPhone you understand.

In the end, as you can see, her iPhone was fine and she breathes a sigh of relief.  I totally understood that sigh of relief, because I have dropped my old iPhone 3 countless times. Each time I felt that second or two of dread as I watched it fall and every time I picked it up and relaxed when I found the screen was unscathed.

Well, I just recently upgraded to the iPhone 4S.  I have had it for a month and have not dropped it at all… until today.  As I arrived at my friend’s baby shower, my new phone slipped from my hand as I tried to place it in my purse.  It hit my thiegh and then plummeted towards the street landing flat on it’s face.  I had the same dread as I always do, but since the Portlandia sketch was still fresh in my head I will admit I hoped that as I picked it up I would be able to breath a sigh of relief just as Carrie did.  My phone fell half the distance as her phone did, why should the result be any different?

Unfortunately, As I picked it up and turned it over to look at it… I saw that life did not imitate the sketch comedy art of Portlandia, and I found that the glass was shattered.  It is still useable, but the glass will have to be replaced.

I blame it on the case I got (although my husband thinks I should blame my clumsiness and I can’t say my clumsiness is not a factor).  My case for the iPhone 3 had a thick rim around the front and if it had been my old phone in my old case, I am sure it would have been fine since it had landed flat on the ground… but alas the new phone in the new cover did not have the luxury of a thick rim of protection.   Yet, hindsight is 20/20 and I cannot go back and change the events, thus I can’t beat myself up over the accident… Stuff (usually brown and smelly happens.   I just have to learn from it and get a better, more protective case.  Any case recommendations?

