Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I love 3 day weekends.  Of course, I also love that the reason we had a 3 day weekend was to celebrate an amazing man, Martin Luther King, Jr.    Well, our weekend consisted of painting for my husband and laundry as well as decluttering for me.  It was not all work and no play though… My daughter and I were able to sneak in a little excursion to a local museum today.

Powerful Message

 

Today we went to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts to see the Elvis and Mummy exhibits.  It struck me that it was a wonderful activity to do today.  Elvis’ music transcended color and as we looked at the photographs taken of Elvis when he was 21 where he was eating at a segregated diner, it allowed me the opportunity to talk about segregation and Martin Luther King Jr.  The mummy exhibit we went to after really did not have much to do with Martin Luther King, but it was still pretty cool.

Mmm, Potatoes

Source: epicurious.com via Tara on Pinterest

 

After the fun day at the museum, I had my friends over for dinner. After running to the store to pick up the stuff for dinner and then running back to the store to pick up steak that I needed for dinner, but forgot to buy…  My husband cooked up some yummy steaks and I made some delicious Garlic Smashed Potatoes.  I thought I pulled up the recipe that I had pinned, but realized later that it was not the same as the one.  At any rate, I had to pin it to my Yumminess board.  It was that easy to make, which was awesome considering I needed easy after my brain lapses at the grocery store.

A Reason to Drink Some Mountain Dew

Source: maniacworld.com via Tara on Pinterest

 

We have had a really weird winter here so far.  It has been unseasonably warm and then it gets really cold.  Of course, mother nature does not seem to be getting my hate mail or at least she does not see my hate mail as a threat because she has not add some precipitation to the cold days yet.  I am not a big fan of cold, but I am an even less fan of really cold without snow.  At any rate, I found this fun activity and thought it may be something fun to do if it happens to get unseasonably warm again, but if it would like to stay cold and snow, I would not mind to hold onto this idea until Spring.  I am patient like that.

