Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday, I had some girls over for a regifting White Elephant party.   The idea is to use the format of a white elephant or yankee swap is that you bring a gift and then we will do an exchange so that you end up with what someone else brings.  I never realized until now that there is a slight difference between a white elephant exchange and a Yankee Swap.  A white elephant party implies that the gifts should be something horribly ugly, something you don’t want, or a gag gift and a yankee swap is the exchange.   I learn something new each day.

Our exchange was specifically to bring something that you did not want from Christmas and regift it.  It ended up being a small group which I figured it would be since it was not the best night for everyone, but it was still a great group of women.  Actually, I thought the get together was going to have to be moved because my husband found out last week that he had to be out of town.  In the end, I was glad that I did not change the date because it was nice not to spend the night alone.  There were only 3 gifts to exchange and so we just exchanged the things without the hullabaloo of the White Elephant set up.  I think we all ended up with some fairly nice stuff.  I got some great little items for table settings.  They are little pockets that look like presents that hold silverware.

So for the food…

I made South Georgia Caviar.  I love this caviar.  It is super easy to make and is so much more tasty than just having salsa and chips.

I also decided it was about time that I tried to use the crock pot, so I decided to make Party Meatballs.  Since I did not want to risk messing up the meatballs (and because I hate molding raw meat) I searched specifically for a recipe that used frozen meatballs.

For the meatballs, I chose Cattlemen’s Memphis Sauce and Kroger grape jelly.  The meatballs turned out to be really tasty.  The only problem I had with my crock pot was that I could not figure out how to just keep the meatballs warm.  I am wondering if I just don’t have a crockpot with a warming switch… since the only choices I had were low and high…maybe low is for warming, but it seemed like that was not the case.

Well, I forgot to take pictures of the food and party, so I guess that is about it for this post… although I do recommend both recipes if you need to go to a potluck or if you are planning to have a little party soon.

 

 

