Tags

, , , ,

Nothing that is really good and God-like dies.

Ernst Moritz Arndt

Today we lost one of the most remarkable women I have ever had the pleasure to meet.
When you marry someone, you marry their family.  I was lucky to marry into an amazing family and at the head of his father’s side was his grandmother “Grandmar”.
Deeply devoted to her family she welcomed me into the family as the first granddaughter-in-law.  On November 30th, she turned 91. A birthday she shared with my husband for 35 years.  What a life she had in the 91 years she live on this earth!
She was an amazing seamstress.  One of the things she made was a christening gown, that is so delicate and so beautiful, that I do not think it can be matched by any modern maker.   My daughter was blessed to wear the beautiful gown in 2006.
Looking at this picture, it makes me sad to think that we lost two of the amazing women in the picture in the last year.  It also speaks volumes to Grandmar’s humility.  She was one of the strongest people in our family, but she did not want to take the limelight.  I wish the picture could have shown the loving care that she put into the gown… which had the tiniest pintucks on the sleeves and bodice.
She was a survivor.  She lived through many hard times… The Great Depression, WWII, and all the challenging moments of the modern times.  She was thoughtful.  She labeled every gift she was given and was able to tell you the story of any item in her house.   She showed her love for her children, her grandchildren, and her great grandchildren in so many ways that I could not record it all if I tried.
Today was the Christmas play at our church.  My kids were angels and although we did not know it… There was another angel with them.  For I know she must have become an angel because she loved for the sake of loving and a soul as remarkable and genuinely good cannot die.
To love for the sake of being loved is human, but to love for the sake of loving is angelic.
Alphonse de Lamartine
