Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It has been awhile since I have documented the yumminess that has come out of my kitchen… probably since the only things that have come out of my kitchen have been frozen chicken fingers, Stouffer’s Meatloaf, and Uncrustables.  I have fallen off the the cooking band-wagon lately and have succumb to my old ways of grabbing fast food and ordering carry out.  I will say that chicken fingers can be done in a even more kid friendly way… Why not let the fingers soak in a ketchup hot tub?

That is the reason it has taken me 2 weeks to cook 3 dishes from Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade (another free trial link). Tonight I was able to finish my last recipe, kind of my welcome back to the kitchen recipe.

Here is the run down…

The first recipe I tried was Fried Chicken Po’boys with buttermilk dressing.  Frankly, this consisted of making a sandwich with frozen chicken and pouring Hidden Valley Ranch dressing on it, since I forgot to add the dill to the buttermilk dressing.  Maybe it would have been unbelievable with the dill in the dressing, I don’t know.  The way I made it…it was unsensational.

Then I tried her Grilled Pork Chops with Chilled Bean and Tomato Salad, and thought it was pretty good.  It may have been even better if I had actually planned ahead enough to chill the Bean and Tomato Salad.  I am 2 for 2 in not following directions.  My husband is not a big fan of pork chops, so we also altered the recipe and used pork loin.  This was a great substitution.  The pork chops (pork loin) was incredibly easy to make, since all you had to do was sprinkle with salt, pepper, and some italian seasoning.

Finally, tonight’s dish and the feature of this post…. Roasted Citrus Chicken.  I have to say the picture in the magazine made this the dish I wanted to try the most.  

Of course, my version did not look that appetizing…so I thought I would just show you some of the process (and I forgot to take the picture of the finished plate).  The first step was to sprinkle salt, pepper, and paprika onto the chicken and then brown in a frying pan.  I knew I was in trouble when I realized that the label had rubbed off the tops of several reddish spices.  I just decided to take a guess.

I figured it looked close enough.  I will say that I am not a fan of raw chicken.  It kind of grosses me out.  I guess that is why I felt the need to take a picture of the chicken cooking.

While I cooked the chicken, I cut up one lemon and one orange.

After around 5 minutes (when the skin was browned), I transferred the chicken into a baking dish and squeezed the lemons and oranges onto the chicken.  I also added the bay leaves.  Then I cooked it for 45 minutes at 350.  This allowed me time to relax and watch Johnny Test with my son (who had just awoken from a late nap).

If I was paying attention, I would have added the capers in about 10 minutes before it was finished cooking.  I wasn’t paying attention (Johnny Test was really good).  So, my version was caperless.  It turned out to be really good, despite my amazing attempts to foil the recipe (good to know if you are not a fan of capers).  Sandra Lee also recommends Parsley Cous Cous as a side, but we just did steamed green beans, which are a favorite of the kids.  This was by far my favorite of the recipes I tried.  I will definitely do this recipe again and I may even add the capers the  next time.

Next up… I am going to take on Paula Deen.  This should be interesting.

Note:  I think I changed out all the times I wrote “Sandra Dee” instead of “Sandra Lee.”  If I missed one… Oh well.  She will always be Sandra Dee to me.

 

 

