Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So it has been awhile since I posted a cooking experiment, well that is because life has gotten a bit crazy and my husband has been helping with the cooking more. This is a great thing, but not so great when I am supposed to be sharing my development as a cook with you guys.
We are still trying out recipes in different magazines and so for the last week and a half we have selected recipes from a magazine called Simple and Delicious (from the people at Taste of Home). By the Way if you click on the link for it they are offering a deal where you could get an issue for free, I know I always like to try things for free (too bad I bought my issue). Anyway, the picture of pizzas on the front enticed me. In general, I do have to say I had a hard time picking recipes to try. Partly because I am all about the pictures… If the picture of the food looks good I will try it, but if it is not a well done photograph I may pass it by. I am not saying this is the right thing for me to do, but I have to disclose my shortcomings.
I finally settled on 3 recipes. Since my refrigerator looked like it did when we were in college (since we had to clean it out after losing power) I had to shop for the ingredients again.
The first recipe was for upgrading frozen pizza called “Taco Pizza”. My refrigerator looked like it did when we were in college (since we had to clean it out after losing power), so I had to shop for the ingredients again. Due to the brillent timing, I went shopping on the night after Irene hit and so the stores I checked had cleaned out their frozen food sections and their refrigerated food sections and so I was unable to obtain the ingredients. Sadly this is what my refrigerator looked like after my shopping trip (thankfully, my friend found some yogurt).
I did try again later in the week, but when I went to Wal-mart they did not have DiGiorno sausage rising crust pizza that was called for in the recipe and after 5 minutes of contemplating weather pepperoni would work…I decided that I really was not that into the idea of a Taco Pizza.
We did end up trying three recipes…
The first recipe we tried was the “Just Peachy Pork Tenderloin” It was a quick recipe to make (start to finish 20 minutes) so it was a great pick for a busy weeknight. My biggest gripe was that it was one of those recipes that does not stand out on the page. I can’t tell you how long it took me to find it each time I tried. I constantly turned to the page it was on and thought why did I mark this page and then after 2-3 minutes of flipping pages I noticed the picture. The sad thing is that even as I wrote this post, I had a hard time finding the recipe… I had to remind myself that it was a marked page and the big picture was something I had no interest in, Shrimp Spinich Salad (no offense to the spinach), and I did eventually find it (after flipping through the pages twice).
It was fairly easy to prepare and did not have too many ingredients. The 7 ingredients were pork tenderloin, pinch of salt, a bit of pepper, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 4 peaches (peeled), a tsp. of lemon juice, and 1/4 cup of peach preserves (which I only could find in “light”). Basically, you sprinkle the pork with salt and pepper then cook it in a skillet with the oil. Then you remove the pork (but keep it warm in the oven), and add the lemon juice and peaches. After 3-4 minutes (or until the peaches are tender) put the pork back in and add the preserves. Once it is heated all the way through you can serve it.

It was a tasty easy recipe and we would do it again.
We finished our tour though the magazine with their suggestion for a “Summer’s Last Bash.” As they suggested, we went bananas on the grill (even though we did not use any bananas), and invited some friends over to eat. We made the “Grilled Honey-Lime Chicken” and the “Grilled Potato Packets”. By the way, you need to grill both of these recipes (just in case you missed it). Both tasted good, even though my husband was worried about the potatoes. Again, they were simple to prepare and had decent flavor.
Overall, the recipes were “Simple and Delicious”. There was no false advertising there. I think the biggest drawback for me was that the presentation of the prepared foods.

