Tags

, , , , , ,

If you are a man, I will not blame you if you stopped reading this post.  In fact, if you are a man and get uncomfortable when your wife’s or girlfriend’s Aunt Flo comes to town… I would recommend that you stop reading.

Consider yourself warned. 🙂

A few days ago, I caught The Boy looking in the bathroom trashcan with hand ready to grab something out.  I rushed over and stopped him and asked him what he was trying to get.  I was horrified when he indicated that he was trying to get a tampon applicator out.  I told him that when something is in the trashcan, it should stay in the trashcan.  He asked me what it was and I deflected the question with promises of Spongebob Squarepants and emptied the trashcan.  I gave myself a pat on the back for my clever diversion and thought that would be the end of it.

Fate has a funny way of giving you second chances though…

Tonight, I took my kids to Chick-Fil-A for a Fundraiser.  All was well.  The kids got their food and we were having the normal dinnertime conversation.  I had to remind the kids that we were not at home so practicing burping our names was probably not the best idea, but things were good.

Then it happened, The Boy got a bit bored.  He likes to explore all the things around him when he gets bored and my purse happens to be a favorite place to explore when we are out.  Out of the corner of my eye, I see the brightly colored packet get pulled out.  I reminded him that it is time to eat, and gently took the packet from him and returned it to my purse.  Hey, diversion worked last time.

However, this time resulted in the following conversation…

The Boy: What is that?

Me: Nothing. Don’t worry about it. It is nothing exciting.

The Boy:  I want to see what is inside.

Me:  Honey, it is something that is only for women.

The Boy:  So, what is it?

Me:  Something only women use. {sigh} You will find out when you are older.  It really is not a toy.

The Boy: It looks like a toy.

Me: Honey, it isn’t.

The Girl:  {giggles} If it is for women then I will get to have one when I am older, right?

Me: Yes, when you are older.

The Boy:  That is not fair.

Me: You are right.  It is not fair.  I would love it if everyone got to have one, but unfortunately it is just for women.

The Girl: Like me!  Mom, you will let me know when I am older.

Me: {bigger sigh} Yep, I will.

I shortened the conversation… Because we went back and forth for about 5 minutes. Yes, I did time it.  I just kept looking at my phone  hopefully waiting for my husband’s text to tell me that he was on his way to meet us.  I needed back up!  Unfortunately, he missed the whole conversation.

So here is the thing… Tampon packaging has come a long way in the last 15 or so years.  The packages have become a lot smaller so you can cleverly hide them in your hand.  They come in bright colors now.  Thank you, Kotex U.  They don’t have big labels on them that scream “Tampax” or “Playtex.” The packaging has been developed to say “we are fun to use” and “we are discreet because we have bright fun wrappers.”

In fact, they are so cleverly disguised that they look like some of the toys that come in mystery packages.  Oh how my kids love getting those small, brightly-colored packages with different toys in them.  I can think of several toys that my kids like to get. Now that I think about it, I bet it would be hard to tell the difference.  In fact, it reminds me of that old sesame street game… Let’s play!

One of these things is not like the others,
One of these things just doesn’t belong,
Can you tell which thing is not like the others
By the time I finish my song? 

Seriously, if you could not read I think you might mistake the tampons for a toy too.

