Tags

, , ,

“Hipsters are the friends who sneer when you cop to liking Coldplay. They’re the people who wear t-shirts silk-screened with quotes from movies you’ve never heard of and the only ones in America who still think Pabst Blue Ribbon is a good beer. They sport cowboy hats and berets and think Kanye West stole their sunglasses. Everything about them is exactingly constructed to give off the vibe that they just don’t care.”
                                                                                                                   — Time, July 2009 *

I just finished reading A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan. On Goodreads.com, I saw this book was placed on the “hipstastic” shelf by someone and it made me laugh because that is just what I was thinking as I read the book.  The funny thing is that although I thought this, I am not sure why.  I could not define “hipster” with any amount of confidence if I tried… but I got that vibe.

Actually, I was thinking of this guy’s profile that I saw on Match.com when my best friend and I were reviewing it for her (being married for 10 years it is fun to live vicariously through her since sites like those were not around when I was dating). Now it was a year or so ago, so details are fuzzy and I am sure my mind has filled in some small details but I want to describe this guy as best as I can…
The was heavy set and wore a black shirt and I think he may have had a well groomed goatee. He smiled a slight smile while holding up Infinite Jest (I have never read this book so please don’t harass me about it, because I have no opinion). What did this guy look for in a woman? Someone who loves to read and would want to spend nights debating deep issues. He needed a woman who is capable of intelligent conversation.

Now you may be thinking I am so of task… but here is the thing. I imagined this guy really liking this book. Is he a hipster? I have no idea, but in my mind I imagined this guy sitting across from his lady debating the PPT chapter. Was it clever? In my mind, he was arguing “yes.” His lady liked it, but was not enamored. What about me? I actually found it the weakest chapter/story in the book.
Overall, I envisioned this book bringing this young couple hours of bliss as they talked about the “deep issues” the stories present. This book really brings it all, doesn’t it? Rape, mental illness, family dynamics, alcholism, friendship, and I really could go on. Oh,  I could just see the couple just loving the thin lines that connected the characters. It would be the best date ever for them, I am sure.

Did I learn anything about being a domestic goddess from it?  Well, there were certainly enough flawed characters to learn what not to do from.  I am sincerely thankful that my community is not like Crandale, NY (or how it was described in the book).  Finally, I guess I learned that pauses may indicate some deep meaning.  That may come in handy…

Here is the scenario…

The Girl:  Mom!  I am hungry and I don’t want the snacks we have!

The Boy: Mom!  I want my chocolate milk and a T.V. show!

Me: Hold on! …Pause (Seriously!  You guys can wait a few seconds while I finish with the laundry, take the dog out, and clean up the river of water coming from the bathroom! What!  Who in their right mind would put moon sand in the sink? ) …Kids!  I hope you don’t mind waiting a minute more!

The Kids:  …pause (uh oh!)  Okay!

I also inquired more on what a hipster is and I am thinking that I may never be a hipster, but my husband may be one.  An over the hill hipster (considering that they mostly are in their 20’s).

I figured I would see if he was a hipster, by playing a fun game of Bingo… This may not exactly how the bingo board was supposed to be used, but it is something with characteristics.

* Quote found on Wikipedia.com – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hipster_(contemporary_subculture)

