Tags

, ,

I have been trying to save money in whichever ways I can, so when I came across a magazine that told me that making homemade popsicles can be done for 10-14 cents a pop, I thought I may try this out. When I found a popsicle tray at Dollar Store, I knew I would try it out.  What could be better?  This was going be a fun activity with the kids and yummy and cheap popsicles. Of course I also thought of yummy recipes that were in that magazine…Mojito pops for mama! Oh, and then Martha Stewart came out with a magazine with even more recipes!  I pictured myself being mom of the year and wife of the summer… I mean imagine the love on my husband’s face when I hand him a nice homemade ice pop when he is sweating in the summer sun mowing the lawn. 🙂

Sadly, the reality was not like my fantasies. The first time I tried popsicle making, I gathered my kids and hyped it up!  I mean I had them thinking that we were going to make the ice pops of the century.  Our very own jello pops!  Yes, you read that right.  I figured I should not press my luck trying the fancy recipes at first and it is a good thing I didn’t.  My kids were so excited for those things constantly opening up the freezer and asking if they could have them yet. Well, I held them off until after lunch the following day.  I unvielled them with flourish and attempted to pull one out and got just the stick.  The frozen jello remained happy in the mold.  Okay, I tried the next one and the same.  Needless to say the kids did not want their plastic popsicle-less stick.  I tried to warm the sides of the mold with my hands and ended up with another stick.  I then submerged the tray in hot water and after a minute I had success.  Success may not be the word I should use.  I had a half frozen stick of jello that frankly had a really weird consistency.  So, the garbage disposal had a nice little snack.

I did not give up on the dream though.  Yesterday, we attempted this fun kid-friendly activity again.  This time I brought out my secret weapon… Crisco.  I decided to line the molds with Crisco to help them slide out from the mold after they were frozen. Unfortunately, being Dollar Tree molds, they were not conducive to the application of the Crisco.  I “McGyver”ed a pen and some paper towels to get the Crisco into the mold.  I was not confident enough to spend too much time making any fancy recipes so I let the kids pick out the Kool Aide mix they wanted and we made some Kool aide then we poured it in and put it in the freezer.  The kids did not hassle me for the pops this time (I am sure still traumatized by the flaccid Jello pops).

Well, the result was the same!  Crisco was defeated much to the disappointment of my children.  Lots of sticks removals!  I am not defeated yet.  The Dollar Tree molds are though… They will now rest in peace at the nearest Goodwill, because I found more ice pop molds.  They were a bit more pricey at $3.oo.  I inspected their sticks and shape and determined that this mold will be the ticket!

I will have my fantasy!  My kids will get to enjoy fun popsicle making time, and I will delight my sweat covered husband with a cold ice pop treat before the summer is over.

 

