Tags

, ,

Soo… part of my new role is cooking. My husband always cooked for us (with good reason). I failed cooking in Home Economics in 8th grade, and I have not shown much improvement since then (hence my love for Tastefully Simple).
Tonight’s cooking experiment… Cheesy Tex-Mex Bake. This is a recipe I found in an old magazine that looked easy enough to make, so I thought I would try it out.
I was feeling good throughout the preperation. I was cutting veggies like a champ, browned the meat without burning myself (which is a feat for me). So now all I had to do is put the thing in the oven and bake for 45 minutes.You know it tasted fine. A little bland, but hey it was a kid-friendly recipe… or is it?

This is what it looked like when I served it…

My family’s responses…
The Husband’s response: It smells good.
The Girl’s response: WHAT is that?
The Boy’s response: Ew, Gross.

Now that was just there first responses, they all ate all their dinner and all agreed it tasted better that it looked.

Most of my dishes have been effected by “The Tara effect”,in this case I did not read the recipe well and so I got the wrong kind of frozen hash browns (shedded vs. the cubed potatoes it called for), and completely forgot the bag of frozen corn. I do think it may not have been any better looking if there was corn scattered throughout it, but that is just me.

