Tags

, , ,

I love Tastefully Simple*. I lived by their mixes to get me through pot luck dinners and parties where I had to bring something yummy to share.
My staple was their Key Lime Cheese ball. It was always a crowd pleaser and I could make it in less than 15 minutes the night before (without any cooking involved) and then grab it as I ran from work to wherever I needed to be.
So at the last party I went to, the consultant challenged me to try another product the Absolutely Almond Pound Cake Mix ($6.69). Hmm… This would require the use of an oven… I have one of those things, but I only use it to cook pre-made chicken nuggets. I ended up taking her up on her challenge.
Yesterday, I noted that the Blackberries were a great deal (food lion- 2 for $4), so I thought I would treat my family to a yummy dessert. I picked up some whipped cream and decided it was about time to try that mix out.
The mixing part was pretty easy… 3/4 cup of butter (check!), water (check!). It even said that it is OK if it stayed a bit lumpy, which is a good thing. Of course, as I transferred it I noticed a good part of the mix wasn’t mixed in, so I had to pour it back in the bowl and mix it some more.
I popped it in the oven for 57 minutes (55 was just not enough). It smelled devine. I could not resist cutting off a piece while it was still warm and eating it!
After cutting some slices of it, I just topped with some blackberries and whipped cream and served. It was a hit with the whole family.

My Decision:
I love it!
I will be picking up multiple boxes at the next home show (hopefully one of my friends will host one soon). I love stockpiling the mixes so that I have something on hand when those parties pop up and I need something to bring. I think I may have found another favorite potluck treat.
The only downfall is that the mix is $6.69 and you do usually have to pay for shipping, so my dessert was roughly $10 to make (since I had the butter already). Not the cheapest dessert, but due to the ease of use, it is a great option for those of us that want to pretend we are good cooks.

*If you have never heard of the company before it is a company that sells mixes for food products, spice mixes, and other yummy treats designed to make cooking quick and easy. They sell their products through home parties and private consultants.
http://www.tastefullysimple.com/

